Annual Alumni Awards

The Sonoran University Alumni Relations Office and the Alumni Association Board honor alumni each year for their contributions to health professions and to their alma mater. Sonoran University alumni are over 2,000 strong and are made up of a large and diverse network of professionals who are changing the face of health care.


Nomination forms for the awards are accepted throughout the year. Submit a nomination form to nominate a worthy alumnus. The alumni award recipients are recognized annually. For more information, please contact the Alumni Relations Office at:


Advancing Naturopathic Medicine Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made a major contribution to the advancement and development of naturopathic medicine. The alumnus is not only a health care provider, scientist and/or educator, but also an influential participant in the advancement of naturopathic medicine.


Advancing Nutrition Award

This award recognizes a College of Nutrition alumnus who has made a major contribution to the advancement of the field of nutrition. The recipient of this award is an evidence-based nutrition practitioner, leader, researcher, and/or educator who has demonstrated a positive and influential impact on the field of nutrition. 


Community Service Award

This award is given to an alumnus who has made significant contributions to the betterment of the community through charitable or public service.


Advancing Sonoran University Award

This award recognizes a Sonoran University alumnus who has made extraordinary service contributions to the University. Those contributions in turn have significantly enhanced the well-being and reputation of Sonoran University within the healthcare community.

Nomination forms can be accessed at the links below and can be faxed to the attention of the Alumni Relations Office at 480.222.9403 or emailed to



Alumni Award History

Congratulations to our current and past award recipients!

Advancing Naturopathic Medicine (formerly the Legacy Award)
2023: Jennifer Bahr, ND
2022: Jennifer Mundt, ND
2021: Drew Timmermans, ND
2020: Turshá Hamilton, ND
2019: Tara Peyman, ND
2018: Eli Camp, ND
2017: Nasha Winters, ND
2016: Kristen Bishop, NMD
2015: Alan Christianson, ND
2014: Mark Strom, ND
2013: Heidi Weinhold, ND
2012: Dan Rubin, ND, FABNO
2011: Cathy Walker, RN, BSN, MBA, NMD and Sam Walker, RN, BSN, MBA, NMD, PhD
2010: David Tallman, ND
2009: Bradley Smith, ND
2008: Bruce Sadilek, ND
2007: Craig Runbeck, ND
2006: JoAnn Yanez, ND
2005: Debi Smolinski, ND
2004: Holly Lucille, ND
Advancing Nutrition Award (first award in 2024)
Community Service Award (first awarded in 2009)


2023: Sarah Trahan, ND

2022: Amber Tabares NMD, MBA-HCM

2021: Roselynde Bryant, NMD

2020: Stephanie Seitz, MT (ASCP), ND, MPH

2019: Lilia Feria, ND 

2018:  Brad Smith, ND

2017: Jonci Jensen, ND
2016: Randall Robinson, ND
2015: Kristen Correia, ND
2014: Debi Smolinski, ND and Melissa Coats, ND
2013: Dave Arneson, ND
2012: Craig Runbeck, ND
2011: Sarah Preston Hesler, ND, and Sean Hesler, ND
2010: Cathy Walker, ND
2009: Brandy Gowey, ND

Advancing Sonoran University (formerly Distinguished Service Award)
2023: Dharti Patel, DMD, FDS RCS (Ed), ND, MSOM, DAcHM
2022: Katie Stage, ND, RH (AHG)
2021: Amanda Alexander, ND
2020: Kimberly Volk, RN, ND
2019: Debi Smolinski, ND
2018: Guillermo Ruiz, ND
2017: Steven Katz, ND
2016:  Brendan McCarthy, ND
2015: Dejarra Sims, ND
2014: Kelly Clough, ND
2013: Jamie Oskin, ND
2012: Julie Keiffer, NMD
2011: Leila Turner, ND
2010: Tracy Wooten, NMD
2009: Jessica Mitchell, ND
2008: Jan Highfield, ND
2007: June Stevens, ND
2006: Eric Udell, ND
2005: Ann Manby, ND
2004: Dan Rubin, ND


There is no content in this portlet.